The name Indonesia derives from the Latin word Indus, meaning “India”, and the Greek word nesos, meaning “island”. Located strategically between the Asian & Australian continents, Indonesia consists of 17,508 islands with Java, Sumatra, Kalimantan, West Papua & Sulawesi as its five largest islands.

Indonesia with its population of 237 million people is actually the world’s 4th most populous country. There are more than 300 distinct native ethnicities in Indonesia with 742 different languages and dialects. The largest group is the Javanese which comprise 42% of the population and are culturally dominant.

View Larger Map

Popularity: 78%

    blog comments powered by Disqus