Home » East Java

East Java

East Java is located at the eastern part of island of Java and also includes Madura and Bawean islands. It is just west across of strait of Bali. Surabaya, the capital city, is the second largest city in Indonesia after Jakarta. Surabaya is known as the City of Hero because of its role in Indonesia’s independent war.

East Java is known as the home of prehistoric human where in 1890, a group of archeologists found the fossil of Java man (Homo erectus), dated back to more than 500,000 years old. East Java is also known as the base of some powerful kingdom in Indonesia such as Majapahit kingdom, Kediri kingdom, and Sriwijaya kingdom.

Major attractions in East Java:

  • Bromo-Tengger-Semeru National Park, two active volcanic mountains (Mount Bromo and Mount Semeru)
  • Baluran National Park – large forest and coastal park
  • Blitar – birthplace of Indonesia’s first president, Sukarno
  • Trenggalek beach, beautiful white sand beach
  • Surabaya
  • Madura

Popularity: 3%

  • Share this on del.icio.us
  • Share this on Reddit
  • Stumble upon something good? Share it on StumbleUpon
  • Post this to MySpace
  • Add this to Google Bookmarks
  • Send this page to Print Friendly
  • Buzz up!